the Zine page for current issue of news and articles concerning New Zealand life and culture in 1996 NZine became New Zealands first interactive online magazine showing NZ to the world warts and all New Zealand Regional Information and Links to New Zealand Resources contact the publishers and editorship of NZine
clickable listings of previously issued NZine articles - over 1000 still of interest Add your comment to the NZine guestbook - also join and use forums for more interaction
Search Articles  

           Home >  Culture  > Music  :

New Zealand Music Awards 1999
Sue May - 26/2/99

Finalists Announced
Today, the Recording Industry Association of New Zealand (RIANZ), announced the finalists in 23 categories of the Coca-Cola New Zealand Music Awards 99 - "The Tuis".
(Full list below.)

The awards will be presented on Saturday, March 13 at the Auckland Town Hall in a ceremony to be broadcast by TV4 and TV3, produced by Livingstone Productions.

The Feelers dominate this year's awards as finalists in nine categories, including Coca-Cola Single of the Year ("Venus"), Album of the Year ("Supersystem"), Top Male Vocalist (James Reid) and Top Group. Last year, in their first year of national prominence with Warner Music, the Christchurch rock group was a finalist in six categories.

Neil Finn in his first solo year is a finalist in six categories, including Album of the Year, Top Male Vocalist for "Try Whistling This" and the Songwriter Award for "She Will Have Her Way".

He is also a finalist in the International Achievement Award, alongside The Feelers and last year's major award winner Bic Runga.

Che Fu features in four categories, including Single of the Year for "Scene III" and Album of the Year ("2bSPacific") and current chart-topper Ardijah in three categories - Single of the Year ("Love So Right"), Top Female Vocalist (Betty Anne Monga) and Top Group.

Apra Silver Scroll winner Dave Dobbyn is up for the Songwriter Award for "Beside You" and Top Male Vocalist for "The Islander". Moana and the Moahunters are finalists in both the Mana Reo Award and the Mana Maori Award with the album "Rua". Debbie Harwood and Friends Christmas charity album "Angels - The New Zealand Christmas Album" is a finalist in the Gospel category.

There are four finalists in the award introduced last year, the New Zealand Music Radio Programmer of the Year: Tony Nielsen of Radio Otago Group, Melanie Wise of Q92 FM Queenstown, Jo Hampton of NRG FM and Robert Taylor of Radio Hauraki. This award is decided by the Kiwi Music Action Group.

Introducing the new sponsorship arrangement for the awards, RIANZ president, Michael Glading, says: "RIANZ is delighted that Coca-Cola has become sponsor of the awards and joins us in honouring the tremendous musical talent in this country. The past year has been extremely successful for New Zealand music, as demonstrated by this impressive list of finalists and we are proud to celebrate these achievements."

Listen to the Coca-Cola New Zealand Music Awards finalists on the website:


For information and access to the Awards ceremony on March 13, call Awards Publicist Sue May ph 09 834 7242 025 739 318

Beta and VHS tapes of the finalists reel are available from Sue May.


Coca-Cola Single of the Year
The Feelers - Venus
Che Fu - Scene III
Ardijah - Love So Right

Album of the Year
Che Fu - 2bS'Pacific
The Feelers - Supersystem
Neil Finn - Try Whistling This

Top Male Vocalist
Neil Finn - Try Whistling This
Dave Dobbyn - The Islander
James Reid - The Feelers - Supersystem

Top Female Vocalist
Sulata Foa'i - Te Vaka
Betty Anne Monga - Ardijah
Alesha Siosiua - Urban Pacifika

Top Group
Ardijah - Love So Right
The Feelers - Supersystem
Shihad - Blue Light Disco

International Achievement Award
Neil Finn - Try Whistling This
Bic Runga - Drive
The Feelers - Supersystem

Most Promising Male Vocalist
Nathan King - Zed
Andrew Tilby - Breathe
King Kapisi

Most Promising Female Vocalist
Liz Fa'alogo - NV
Boh Runga - Stellar
Sina Saipaia

Most Promising Group
Breathe - Pop Life
Stellar - What You Do
Zed - Oh Daisy

Top Producer
Eddie Rayner - ENZSO 2
Malcolm Welsford & The Feelers - Supersystem, The Feelers
Che Fu - 2b S'Pacific

Top Engineer
Malcolm Welsford - Supersystem, The Feelers
Sam Gibson - Try Whistling This, Neil Finn
Andy Morton - 2bS'Pacific, Che Fu

Country Award
Coalrangers - Home Tonight
Barry Saunders - Magnetic South
Glen moffat - A Place To Play

Songwriter Award
James Reid - Venus, The Feelers
Dave Dobbyn - Beside You
Neil Finn - She Will Have Her Way

Best Cover Design
Marcus Ringrose - Supersystem, The Feelers
Elroy Finn - Try Whistling This, Neil Finn
Mark Roach & Andrew Durno - HLAH-IV Are You Gonna Kiss It ot Shoot It?

Best Music Video
Sima & Makerita Urale - Sub-Cranium Feeling - King Kapisi
Rubin Sutherland - Wait & See - Shihad
Mark Tierney & Fiona Champtaloup - Unlikely - NV

Mana Reo Award
Ngati Rangiwewehi Maori Group - Wairua, Spirit of Ngati Rangiwewehi
Taoufa Waiata - He Waiata Onemata
Moana & The Moahunters - Rua
Waihirere Maori Club - Waihirere, National Champions

Mana Maori Award
Hoir Chapman - Toku Reo
Moana & The Moahunters - Rua
Waihirere Maori Club - Waihirere, National Champions
Ngati Rangiwewehi - Wairua, Spirit of Ngati Rangiwewehi

Jazz Award
Wil Sargisson - Steppin Out
Chris White/Aaron Nevezie Quartet - Take Me With You
Rodger Fox Quartet - Back to Being One

Classical Award
New Zealand String Quartet - Bartok The Six Quartets
Alexander Ivashkin - Under the Southern Cross
Tamas Vesmas - Debussy, Bartok Piano Music

Folk Award
Gallowglass - Sparven
Windy City Strugglers - On Top of the World
Philip Riley & Jayne Elleson - The Blessing Tree

Gospel Award
The Parachute Band - Always & Forever
Debbie Harwood & Friends - Angels, The New Zealand Christmas Album
Steve Apirana - It's Inevitable

Childrens Award
David LaPlanche - A Hand Full of Songs
Jennifer Moss - Jennifer's Garden
Universal Children's Audio - Kori Kori/Busy Bodies/Lue Lue Mai
Tessarose Productions - Dancing to the Beat Volume 2

The New Zealand Music Radio Programmer Of The Year Award
Tony Nielsen - Radio Otago Group
Melanie Wise - Q92 FM
Jo Hampton - NRG FM
Robert Taylor - Radio Hauraki

Home       NZ Map       Contact       Recent Articles       Your Views      

Copyright 1996 - 2005 NZine - A Quality Service from Plain Communications LTD